Zest is great for Sunday brunch

After church today, the wife and I went to Zest in North Raleigh for Sunday brunch. What a meal!

We walked in and were immediately seated on the patio. The restaurant is in a strip mall, next door to a Borders book store. You enter into a gift store area that opens into the restaurant.

We were quickly served. I ordered the brunch frittata and my wife had the quadrant.

The frittata had summer heirloom tomatoes and manchego cheese topped with a spoonful of tomato confit served with a mixed green salad and fresh fruit. I had a side order of southern style cheddar cheese grits and this was topped off with a slice of cornbread. The grits and egg dish were spectacular.

The quadrant included 2 griddlecakes of the day with warm syrup and 2 any style eggs. It included zest mix roasted chipolte-herb potatoes and a remakin of southern style cheddar cheese grits. The griddlecakes were filled with blackberries and the eggs were scrambled. My wife said it was delicious.

When I paid at the register I asked about being able to walk in and sit down. They noted that it was unusual. I look forward to going back again, and I’ll be willing to wait. Sunday brunch is 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

The restaurant is located at 8831 Six Forks Rd, Raleigh, NC 27615-2970, just down from Milton’s Pizza. The phone number is 848-4792.

Leave a Reply

